How To Classify Cement ?

Cement: Powdery hydraulically inorganic cementitious materials are mixed with water to form paste, which can harden in air or in water, and can firmly bind sand, stone and other materials together.

The combination of early lime and pozzolanic is similar to modern lime pozzolanic cement. The concrete made by cementing crushed stone with it not only has higher strength after hardening, but also can resist the erosion of fresh water or brine. For a long time, cement, as an important cementitious material, has been widely used in civil construction, water conservancy, national defense and other projects.


There are many types of cement, which can generally be classified according to their properties and uses, hydraulics components, characteristics. So how to classify the different cement?

Cement Types on the Basis of Properties and Use

  • Normal Cement: Commonly used in civil engineering. Normal cement mainly refers to 6 kinds: Portland Cement, Ordinary Portland Cement, Portland Slag Cement, Portland Pozzolana Cement, Portland-Fly Ash Cement and Portland Composite Cement.
  • Special Cement: Cement for special use. For example: G-grade oil well cement, road Portland cement.
  • Characteristic Cement: A kind of cement with outstanding performance. Such as: Rapid hardening Portland Cement, Low Heat Slag Portland Cement, Expansive Sulphoaluminate Cement, Phosphoaluminate Cement and Phosphate Cement.

white cement

Cement Types according to Hydraulics Components

  1. Silicate Cement, commonly known as Portland cement;
  2. Aluminate Cement;
  3. Sulfoaluminate Cement;
  4. Ferroaluminate Cement;
  5. Fluoroaluminate Cement;
  6. Phosphate Cement;
  7. Cement with volcanic ash or latent hydraulics and other active materials as main components.

Cement Types on the Basis of Characteristics

  • Rapid Hardness (hydraulicity): It can be divided into: Rapid hardening cement and Ultra-rapid hardening cement.
  • Heat of Hydration: It can be divided into: Medium heat cement and Low heat cement.
  • Sulfate Resistance:It can be divided into: Sulfate resistance and High sulfate resistance.
  • Expansibility: It can be divided into: Expansive cement, and Self-stress cement.
  • High Temperature Resistance: Aluminate cement is classified by the content of alumina.

construction cement


  1. Randy says:

    There are some other types of cements also including
    Ordinary Portland Cement (OPC)
    Rapid Hardening Cement
    Sulphates resisting cement

    Portland Pozzolana Cement (PPC)

    1. beidoou says:

      Hello Randy,

      Thank you for your comments and sharing. I will continue to improve more articles on cement. Please continue to give your comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *